了解 AGM 电池与深循环电池

目录

在深循环电池中,可充电铅酸电池种类繁多,通常用于启动车辆和作为发动机运行,以及用于应急照明。 AGM 电池自 1980 年代就已经存在,也许大多数人不知道 AGM 代表什么。 本期我们将讨论AGM电池有什么特别之处以及如何合理使用我们的AGM电池!

了解 AGM 电池与深循环电池
了解 AGM 电池与深循环电池

什么是 AGM 电池?

AGM电池全称吸收式玻璃垫电池,属于VRLA电池(阀控式铅酸电池)。 AGM电池最大的特点是电池极板上的玻璃纤维网,用于盛放电解液和分隔极板。 其次,还有安全阀等部件。

AGM 电池的诞生

AGM 电池起源于 1972 年,第一块 AGM 电池由获得专利的盖茨橡胶公司生产,名为 Cyclon,现在由 艾诺斯. AGM 电池在 1980 年开始流行,用于为摩托车、军用、飞机和潜艇提供动力,并作为传统浸没式铅酸电池的免维护替代品。 在 1980 年代中期,在英国电信的电池规范的推动下,两家英国公司 Chloride 和 Tungstone 同时推出了容量高达 400 Ah 的十年寿命 AGM 电池,以支持新的数字交换。

AGM 电池如何工作
图片资料来自@lidianshijie.com

AGM 电池如何工作?

铅酸电池电极

充电反应 :(+)PbO2 + 3H+ + HSO4- + 2e ≒ PbSO4 + 2H2O

电池充电时,正极由硫酸铅(PbSO4)转变为棕色二氧化铅(PbO2),负极由PbSO4转变为灰铅Pb。 随着充电过程的进行,正极电位逐渐升高,负极电位降低。

充电结束时,发生水的电解反应,正极开始产生氧气,而负极由于活性物质过剩和析氢电位高的金属(如钙、镉等)的加入,不产生氢气。 )。

正极产生的氧气通过AGM隔膜传输到负极,与负极结合合成氧化铅。 氧化铅与硫酸结合生成水,实现内部水循环。 因此,整个铅酸电池被密封。

当心:密封铅酸电池一定要恒压充电,因为在充电过程中,为了保证只产生少量氧气,保证能及时转移到负极进行复合,避免失水. 如果此时电压过高,会产生大量氧气,导致氧气来不及结合,内压急剧升高。 最后会打开安全阀造成失水,影响电池寿命。

(-)Pb + HSO4 – ≒ PbSO4 + H+ +2e

电池放电的正极由二氧化铅变为硫酸铅,负极由海绵状铅变为硫酸铅。

在此过程中,电池电压逐渐下降,硫酸浓度不断下降。 在放电结束时,由于正负极产生的不良导体硫酸铅逐渐堆积,电极的欧姆电阻迅速增加。 同时,硫酸浓度降低后氢离子扩散缓慢,导致电池电压迅速下降。 此时应终止放电,否则过度放电。

当心:电池过放的危害是充电时部分硫酸铅不能正常转化和回收,下次放电时电池容量会下降。 反复过放电会导致电池容量迅速衰减,使用寿命明显缩短。

AGM蓄电池与浸没式铅酸蓄电池的区别

AGM 电池电解液保持在玻璃垫中,而不是自由地浸入板中。 非常薄的玻璃纤维被编织到垫子中以增加表面积,使其自身有足够的电解质来维持其使用寿命。 构成精细玻璃垫的纤维不吸收,也不受酸性电解质的影响。 这些垫在完成制造前浸泡在酸中后会拧干 2-5%。

AGM 电池中的极板可以是任何形状。 包括扁平、弯曲、卷曲的各种形状。 根据国际电池委员会(BCI) 电池代码规范,深循环和启动型 AGM 电池都内置在矩形外壳中。

AGM蓄电池与浸没式铅酸蓄电池的区别
图片来自网络

AGM电池的优缺点

AGM电池优势

1.具有浸没式铅酸电池2-3倍的使用寿命(500-1300,视放电深度而定) COMING).

2. AGM比富液电池更省电,更容易启动汽车发动机。

3.充电速度更快,5倍于水淹电池的充电速度。

4. 在整个使用寿命期间具有更高的电容稳定性。

5. 良好的耐低温和高温性能。

6.密封设计,无需担心安装方向,降低环境污染风险

7、维护简单,范围广,传统电池自放电率低。

AGM 电池的缺点

1.由于密封设计,电解量小,加厚板设计使得活性材料的利用率低于开放式电池,放电容量比开放式电池低10%左右型电池,低于胶封铅酸电池。

2.尽管享有免维护的美誉,但仍然存在漏气、漏液、膨胀甚至爆炸的风险(热失控) 如果维护不当。

3.不得不承认,AGM汽车电池的价格是富液电池的两倍。

4.初次大容量充电后,中间逐渐减小电流吸收充电阶段需要较长时间,此时铅酸电池的充电接受率逐渐降低,电池不会能够接受更高的 C 率。

AGM电池和VRLA电池的区别

AGM电池是VRLA阀控式铅酸电池的成员,其次是凝胶电池。 这类电池有一个特点,都是通过吸收有限量的电解质板隔板或形成凝胶; 通过负极板和正极板的比例来促进电池内的氧复合; 每个 VRLA 电池每个电池都有一个泄压阀,当电池开始充电并开始在电池内部产生氧气压力时触发泄压阀。

VRLA 电池通常在电池盖中有一个内置的气体扩散器,以安全地分散过度充电造成的过量氢气,同时允许以任何方式定向,而不是实际上被永久密封。

相比之下,凝胶电池通过向电解质中添加二氧化硅粉尘形成厚厚的油灰状凝胶。 AGM 电池在面板之间有一个玻璃纤维网,用于容纳电解质并将面板分开。 它们最大的特点是“免维护”,可以任意方向安装。

使用AGM电池充电器需要注意什么?

任何标准的常规电池充电器都不会为 AGM 充电。 与标准淹没充电要求不同,AGM 电池需要特定的充电器,因为它需要更稳定的充电,并且无法维持标准充电器使用的高充电速度。

如果您使用错误类型的充电器充电,电池可能充电不足或过度充电。 充电不足会导致电池极板硫酸化,从而降低其接受完全充电的能力。 过度充电会烧毁电池内部的组件,缩短其寿命或将其完全耗尽。

AGM电池的应用
AGM电池的房车应用

AGM电池的应用

AGM 通常用于启动或停止汽车的发动机。 由于汽车配备了更多的电子设备,AGM电池减轻了汽车的重量并提供了电力需求。 当今市场上的许多摩托车和全地形车都使用 AGM 电池来减少转弯、振动或事故后酸液溢出的可能性。

由于 AGM 电池缺乏游离电解质,因此它们非常适合为冰监测站等远程传感器供电。 在一些休闲海洋应用中,AGM仍然可以作为深循环电池,可以很好的替代传统的富液电池,很好的替代房车旅行,船用船用电池,也常用于一些离网太阳能以及风力发电和存储。

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest

最新文章

锂替换电池
新闻

解释电池分析的 dq/dv 图

深入了解电池分析领域,了解解释 dq/dv 图表的重要性。了解图表上的峰值如何揭示电池健康状况、容量和电化学过程。揭示改进解释和现实应用的技术,展示 dq/dv 分析的重要性。从电动汽车到航空航天应用,dq/dv 图解释发挥着至关重要的作用

阅读更多»
锂电池充电
新闻

专家提示:如何给锂离子电池充电

锂离子电池简介 自 1990 世纪 XNUMX 年代推出以来,锂离子电池一直是储能革命的标志。这些可充电电池以其高能量密度、低自放电率和长寿命而闻名。这使它们成为为电动汽车、高尔夫球车、房车和汽车提供动力的首选。

阅读更多»
深循环电池
新闻

发现最适合寒冷天气的电池:深入分析

引言 据统计,冬季,因电池问题引起的车辆故障比例分别增加20%和30%。对于车主来说,拥有在寒冷天气下性能可靠的最佳汽车电池变得至关重要。寒冷的天气会给您的车辆电池带来挑战,无论您是在寒冷的早晨启动汽车,

阅读更多»

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

咨询报价

咨询报价

您将在 24 小时内收到回复。

Understanding AGM Batteries vs Deep Cycle Batteries

Among the deep cycle batteries, rechargeable lead-acid batteries come in many types and are often used to start the vehicle and operate as an engine, as well as for emergency lighting. AGM batteries have been around since the 1980s, and perhaps most people don’t know what AGM stands for. In this issue, we will discuss what is special about AGM batteries and how to use our AGM batteries reasonably!

Understanding AGM Batteries vs Deep Cycle Batteries
Understanding AGM Batteries vs Deep Cycle Batteries

What is an AGM battery?

The full name of AGM battery is absorption glass mat battery, which belongs to VRLA battery (valve regulated lead-acid battery). The biggest feature of AGM batteries is the glass fiber mesh on the battery plates, which is used to hold the electrolyte and separate the plates. Secondly, there are safety valves and other components.

The Birth of AGM Batteries

AGM batteries originated in 1972, the first AGM battery produced by the patented Gates Rubber Company called Cyclon, now produced by EnerSys. AGM batteries became popular in 1980 for powering motorcycles, military, aircraft and submarines, and as a maintenance-free replacement for traditional flooded lead-acid batteries. In the mid-1980s, two British companies, Chloride and Tungstone, simultaneously introduced ten-year-life AGM batteries with capacities up to 400 Ah, driven by British Telecom’s battery specification to support new digital switching.

How AGM Batteries Work
Pictures and materials from @lidianshijie.com

How AGM Batteries Work?

Lead acid battery electrode

The charging reaction :(+) PbO2 + 3H+ + HSO4- + 2e ≒ PbSO4 + 2H2O

When the battery is charged, the positive electrode is converted from lead sulfate (PbSO4) to brown lead dioxide (PbO2), and the negative electrode is converted from PbSO4 to gray lead Pb. As the charging process progresses, the positive electrode potential increases gradually and the negative electrode potential decreases.

At the end of charging, the electrolysis reaction of water occurs, the positive electrode begins to generate oxygen, and the negative electrode does not generate hydrogen due to excess active material and the addition of metals with high hydrogen evolution potential (such as calcium, cadmium).

The oxygen generated by the positive electrode is transmitted to the negative electrode through the AGM diaphragm, and is combined with the negative electrode to synthesize lead oxide. The lead oxide is combined with sulfuric acid to generate water to realize the internal water circulation. Thus, the entire lead-acid battery is sealed.

Be careful:Sealed lead-acid batteries must require constant voltage charging, because in the charging process, in order to ensure that only a small amount of oxygen is generated to ensure that it can be transferred to the negative electrode in time for recombination to avoid water loss. If the voltage is too high at this time, a large amount of oxygen will be produced, which will cause the oxygen to be too late to combine and the internal pressure will increase sharply. Finally, the safety valve will be opened to cause water loss, which will affect the battery life.

Discharge(-)Pb + HSO4 – ≒ PbSO4 + H+ +2e

The positive electrode of the battery discharge is changed from lead dioxide to lead sulfate, and the negative electrode is changed from spongy lead to lead sulfate.

During this process, the battery voltage gradually decreased, and the sulfuric acid concentration continued to decrease. At the end of discharge, the ohmic resistance of the electrode increases rapidly due to the gradual accumulation of lead sulfate, a bad conductor generated by the positive and negative electrodes. At the same time, the hydrogen ions diffuse slowly after the sulfuric acid concentration decreases, resulting in a rapid drop in the battery voltage. At this time, the discharge should be terminated, otherwise excessive discharge.

Be careful:The harm of battery over-discharge is that part of lead sulfate cannot be converted and recovered normally when recharged, and the battery capacity will decrease during the next discharge. Repeated over-discharge will cause the battery capacity to decay rapidly and the service life to be shortened significantly.

The difference between AGM battery and submerged lead-acid battery

AGM battery electrolytes are held in glass mats rather than freely immersed in the plates. Very thin fiberglass is woven into the mat to increase the surface area, allowing itself to have enough electrolyte to last its life. The fibers that make up the fine glass mat do not absorb and are not affected by acidic electrolytes. These pads are wrung out 2-5% after soaking in acid before finishing manufacturing.

The plates in AGM batteries can be of any shape. Including flat, curved, curled various shapes. According to the Battery Council International (BCI) battery code specification, both deep cycle and start-type AGM batteries are built into rectangular housings.

The difference between AGM battery and submerged lead-acid battery
Pictures from the Internet

Advantages and disadvantages of AGM batteries

AGM battery advantages

1. Has 2-3 times the service life of submerged lead-acid batteries (500-1300, depending on the depth of discharge DOD).

2. AGM has more power than flooded battery and is easier to start the car engine.

3. The charging speed is faster, 5 times the charging speed of the flooded battery.

4. Higher capacitance stability over the entire service life.

5. Good resistance to both low temperature and high temperature.

6. Sealed design, no need to worry about the orientation of the installation, reducing the risk of environmental pollution

7. Simple maintenance, in a wide range, with lower self-discharge of traditional batteries.

AGM battery disadvantages

1.Due to the sealed design, the amount of electrolysis is small, and the thick plate design makes the utilization rate of active materials lower than that of open-type batteries, and the discharge capacity is about 10% lower than that of open-type batteries, which is lower than that of gel-sealed lead-acid batteries.

2.Despite its maintenance-free reputation, there is still a risk of air leaks, liquid leaks, swelling and even explosions (thermal runaway) if not properly maintained.

3.It has to be admitted that the price of AGM car batteries is twice that of flooded batteries.

4.After the initial high-capacity charge, they take longer to absorb the charge phase in the middle when the current is gradually reduced, at which time the charge acceptance rate of the lead-acid battery is gradually reduced, and the battery will not be able to accept the higher C-rate.

The difference between AGM battery and VRLA battery

AGM battery is a member of VRLA valve-regulated lead-acid battery, followed by gel battery. This type of battery has a characteristic, they are all by absorbing a limited amount of electrolyte plate separator or forming a gel; through the ratio of negative plate and positive plate to promote oxygen recombination in the cell; each VRLA battery Every battery has a pressure relief valve, which is triggered when the battery starts to charge and the oxygen pressure starts to be generated inside the battery.

VRLA batteries typically have a built-in gas diffuser in the battery cover to safely disperse excess hydrogen gas from overcharging, while allowing for orientation in any way, not actually being permanently sealed.

In contrast, gel batteries form a thick, putty-like gel by adding silica dust to the electrolyte. AGM cells have a fiberglass mesh between the panels to hold the electrolyte and separate the panels. Their biggest feature is that they are “maintenance-free” and can be installed in any direction.

What do I need to pay attention to when using the charger for AGM batteries?

Any standard regular battery charger will not charge the AGM. Unlike standard flooded charging requirements, AGM batteries require a specific charger because it requires a more stable charge and cannot sustain the high charging speeds used by standard chargers.

If you charge with the wrong type of charger, the battery may be undercharged or overcharged. Undercharging can lead to sulfation of the battery plates, reducing their ability to accept a full charge. Overcharging can burn the components inside the battery, shortening its life or draining it completely.

Application of AGM battery
RV Application of AGM battery

Application of AGM battery

AGM is generally used to start or stop a car’s engine. Since the car is equipped with more electronic equipment, the AGM battery reduces the weight of the car and provides electrical needs. Many motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles on the market today use AGM batteries to reduce the possibility of acid spills after cornering, vibration, or an accident.

Since AGM batteries lack free electrolytes, they are ideal for powering remote sensors such as ice monitoring stations. In some recreational marine applications, AGM can still be used as a deep cycle battery, which can be a good replacement for traditional flooded batteries, a good replacement for RV travel, marine marine batteries, and is also commonly used in some off-grid solar and wind power generation and storage.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest

Recent Posts

What does DOD stand for in a battery?
Battery knowledge file

What does DOD stand for in a battery?

As a battery pack that stores electricity, it can provide power sources for a variety of needs, including solar energy, wind energy, powered cars, ships, drones, etc. When we buy batteries from merchants, we often encounter 80% DOD or 100% DOD marks, so what effect does it have on the batteries we use?

Read More »
Can New Aluminum-Sulfur Batteries Beat Lithium Batteries
Battery Industry Archives

Can New Aluminum-Sulfur Batteries Beat Lithium?

Many people even long for a more affordable battery to replace the current status quo of expensive lithium batteries. However, scientists at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology have done it, and they have created a new type of battery-aluminum-sulfur battery.

Read More »

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top

request a quote